top of page
  • mercysauer2

Masking Technique

Welcome friends to a new Challenge, all about masking and stenciling. I chose to create a card with lots of masking. I love masking, but more than anything, I love the reveal, lifting the mask and seeing the results...so satisfying!


Let’s take a look at the card and which elements I masked and in what order.


The most important trick when using this technique is the order in which you mask and stamp. As shown in the picture below, I stamped the 1s, followed by the 2s and the 3s. I layout the design and then determine what element goes in front of others; for example, owl 1 on the bottom right-hand side of the card, is flying in front of owl 2. Also, owl 1 stands in front of the pumpkin house. Consequently, I stamped owl 1 first. You go through this process for each element until all are included. In my card, owl 3s are all inside the house, thus the last ones I stamped.



This process becomes second nature and quicker the more you practice. Once all of the stamping is completed, it’s all about creating the scene of your choice. I used Copic colors and created a one-layer card.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page